Update on Blue Dust

Blue Dust is now in stores in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Pune, Kolkata as the main ones and then in smaller cities as well. And it will be coming to Pakistan in February. I have also been invited to the Karachi Literature Festival where I will be speaking at a panel with Kamila Shamsie and H.M Naqvi next month about Pakistani writers writing contemporary fiction in English. The book has been sent to 100 reviewers in India and 30 reviewers in Pakistan. The online link to Blue Dust is given here where you can also view the blurb about it.

http://www.rolibooks.com/indiaink/fiction/-/blue-dust/

More links of book shops where Blue Dust can be bought

http://bookshopofindia.com/search.asp?action1=default&bookid=9089377

http://www.jainbookdepot.com/servlet/jbgetbiblio?bno=B002190

here is a brief blurb about me too:

I did my Bachelors in Philosophy from the University of East Anglia, UK. Many of my poems have been published in literary journals in the UK including Smoke and Splizz. I have also worked for the development sector in Pakistan for more than twelve years during which time I have written several technical papers in various sectors. I have been a panel organizer and panelist for two of the Sustainable Development Policy Institute’s panels at their annual conference on sustainable development, one of the largest in South Asia, for the last two consecutive years. The first panel was on religious minorities in Pakistan and the second on bridging the gaps between fact and fiction. My paper, Shame and Fury on the global menace of religious conflicts in terms of how religion is and has been used as a political tool by nations and its ramifications on world politics from the war in Afghanistan and Iraq to the more local
fractures that Pakistan has witnessed in the context of conflicts between religious sects and different religions was published in this year’s anthology, Peace and Sustainable Development in South Asia published by Sang-e-Meel.

I am currently writing my second book, Noora, which is about a Pakistani family based in Islamabad against the backdrop of the recent “holocaust” of bombings that rocked the nation. The book’s main characters are a hijra, Ruby, Umber, her husband, Ali, their son Zain and the local rubbish collector Noora. Although they each come from entirely different worlds they are all tied together in a strange bond that threatens the fabric of their lives and yet teaches each of them not only of the frailty of the human condition but the necessary armour that each of them must carry with them to survive in a world that is breaking apart.

I continue to write poetry.

Prior to publication some writers are currently reading Blue Dust. I just received my first blurb..

“Ayesha Salman’s voice is remarkable and original… at once sensual and sublime, stark and surreal. Blue Dust is a compelling and agonising personal account – but beyond all, uplifting.” (Dave Ward- Editor- Smoke)
